How to make oat milk

The oat milk, more popularly known by the name of oatmeal drink, a natural beverage produced from oats, from its cooking with water and later grinding (although the original recipe are not included). It becomes undoubtedly one of the most consumed and popular vegetable drinks, probably because it is readily available in most supermarkets and health food stores or herbalists, and also because its preparation is very easy at home, emphasizing at the same time as other equal options make it consumed like for example is the case of soy milk and rice milk.

make oat milk

Although it is commonly known by the name of oat milk the reality is that we are rather facing a really natural oatmeal drink because it is made from water and not milk. However, it is commonly known precisely by the designation of oat milk (while, indeed, is not milk itself because this liquid is not used in its preparation/processing).

No doubt becomes a recommended natural alternative if lactose intolerance, just as substitute for animal milk because it contains lactose. Hence it is also an ideal option for vegetarian or vegan diets, as well as for people who just want it as a substitute for animal drinks.

Make oat milk is actually very simple, so easy that you only need two ingredients (oatmeal and water) and two tools (a blender and a fine sieve). On the other hand, in case you want to sweeten also may need honey, stevia or brown cane sugar.

Recipe for oat milk

Ingredients to make oat milk

  • 6 tablespoons oatmeal
  • 1 liter water.

Steps to make oat milk

  • Place the oats in a blender.
  • Add water and blend well.
  • Strain through a fine sieve.

If you want more or less consistency, it is advisable that you use more oats if you want a much more consistent beverage or fewer if you want something more liquid.

As sweeteners, you can use honey, stevia or an infusion of brown cane sugar.

When is it not recommended to make and consume oat milk?
Although oat drink is usually a healthy and highly nutritious drink, it is true that before consumption must pay special attention to what the contraindications of oat milk, since in certain situations its consumption is not at all recommended.

The main contraindications are:

Gluten allergy and celiac disease: Although oats do not contain gluten tends to be packed especially in factories that handle other cereals containing gluten. It is therefore advisable to consume only those products whose labels specify that it is a “gluten-free product”.

As we see, in reality there are few contraindications related to milk or oat drink, mainly because only the beverage resulting from cooking oatmeal is consumed, not the whole rolled oats are consumed.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestDigg thisShare on StumbleUponShare on RedditShare on TumblrShare on VK